Tags

, , , , , , , ,

DBA LogoThere are a few DBA internship opportunities and each will provide the student with many unique opportunities not available in the average office setting. The Bethlehem office of the Greater Lehigh Valley Chamber of Commerce works directly with the City of Bethlehem on their marketing and communitiy redevelopment initiatives. With the economy slowing down individuals’ spending downtown, our new marketing initiatives are vital and particularly exciting to our merchants. The intern will not only network with members of the city’s administration, but with owners of small and large businesses in the Greater Bethlehem area. The experiences and relationships gained through this unpaid internship will certainly equip any student with desirable professional qualities and set them apart in an ever-increasingly difficult job market.

Below is a list of duties:

•MEET AND BUILD RELATIONSHIPS WITH THE SMALL BUSINESS OWNERS OF THE HISTORIC & SOUTHSIDE DISTRICTS.
•DATA ENTRY INTO EXCEL DOCUMENTS OF INFORMATION AND EMAIL ADDRESSES GATHERED DURING EVENTS THAT ADD TO OUR E-NEWSLETTER MAILING LIST AND E-PROMOTING.
•LEARN HOW TO PUT TOGETHER A MARKETING PLAN FOR EVENT STRATEGIES IN THE TWO DOWNTOWNS OF BETHLEHEM.
•TRAVEL WITHIN BETHLEHEM TO DIFFERENT LOCATIONS TO PROMOTE WITH FLYERS, POSTERS, RACK CARDS..ETC…
•MAKE CALLS TO POTENTIAL SPONSORS, BUSINESS OWNERS AND OTHERS TO INFORM THEM OF EVENT INFORMATION, POSSIBLE SPONSORSHIP OPPORTUNITIES AND TO BUILD A STRONG PROFESSIONAL RELATIONSHIP.
•DESIGN AND CREATE FLYERS AND POSTERS FOR EVENTS.
•BE APART OF THE “STREET TEAM” OF THE DBA.
•LEARN HOW TO ANSWER MESSAGES, TAKE MINUTES, AND PARTAKE IN ASSISTANT WORK WITH THE MANAGER.

Internship Opportunities:

Blogging Internship
Marketing Internship

Click HERE to apply!

Meet The Current Blogging Intern

Hi Readers! My name is Brittany Foster and I’ve been behind the B!News Insider for these past few months. I’m a Lehigh University student and I just finished my last undergraduate semester where I majored in Political Science with minors in Mass Communication and Philosophy. Starting in January, I’ll be a Presidential Scholar working on my Master’s degree in Political Science at Lehigh as a Community Fellow with RenewLV.

I ended up at the Downtown Bethlehem Association after finding the listing on the Lehigh Valley Chamber of Commerce’s blog (I spend a lot of time on the blogosphere). After bugging DBA Manager Samantha Schwartz with writing samples all summer, I had an interview as soon as I got back to school…and started blogging two days later! This has been my 8th internship and one of the busiest. After blogging six times per week, I’ve posted 74 articles on the B! News Insider, interviewed dozens of local vendors, city residents and festival volunteers, learned to edit a little HTML and worn the letters off of my keyboard. I would recommend this internship to anyone who loves to write, loves Bethlehem and wants to build their portfolio.

Thanks to everyone who’s read the first months of B! News Insider, it’s been my pleasure to entertain you!

